Log feedback please Wayne - fan calibration

Tell us about your experience, ask if you're unsure of something, let us know if you have a problem.
Squirt

Log feedback please Wayne - fan calibration

Post by Squirt »

Hi Wayne

First off, I'm coming from a complete beginner roaster angle (and no tasting background beyond I like this coffee and I don't like this one!) so lots of simple language please.... (This is quite a long post but I'm hoping it will be useful for other beginners too.)

I've been struggling to find profiles I like with most profiles seeming to me to be quite uneven and somehow both too acidic and too roasted at the same time. I've played with the default profile, the MASL profiles, some of the Raost profiles, some of Steve's profiles, Firestarter and ended up with my best results from the Ninja Turtle profile. While most of the roasts have been OK, I've still not been super happy with them but just assumed it was my newbie roasting and untrained palette conspiring against me.

However, after reading on the forums about reasons for uneven roasts, and seeing a really long drawn out first crack for one roast (running from 187 for first beans to 207 for the bulk of the bean mass!), I finally twigged that maybe my fan speed is too low.

Luckily I happen to have some Brazil Cerrado beans so just carried out the calibration instructions here:
https://kaffelogic.com/home/blog/calibr ... -fan-speed

The fan speed as it arrived to me was 0.88 so I've just done 3x123g roasts with 0.88, 0.91 and 0.94. The change in visual evenness of roast is evident, and also the flavour difference is quite astonishing with both the 0.91 and 0.94 batches giving minimal to no burnt taste compared to the 0.88 batch. All rather exciting!

Can you please have a look at these logs and let me know what they tell you, and which fan level you think looks best. (Or if I need to go even higher?)

Thanks in advance
Eleanor
Attachments
20220911log0051Calibration0.94BrazilCerradoCW.klog